Skip navigation

Still with my mother’s side patti, Madam Rethinamal. Old lady loved seeing Tamil movies. I used to accompany her to the first show of the day usually around 1 pm. Not being a lover of foot-ware, my patti wore one when going to the show and still I remember, it was a slipper with metal tags at the heels which click claked as you walked. I don’t know why this aspect of the slippers is etched in mind – but she tripped and fell one day as we were walking to the Sun cinema along Brewster Road, along the corridor of the shops we were passing. Luckily a small incident and no injury and in the mind of a small boy say aged in single digit probably 10 a thing to remember by. Can’t remember any of the films that I saw with her. Probably my movie going days had not started.

Yes I was a movie buff of Tamil films even during my school days which infuriated my parents alike present day parents worried sick about their children falling in love with smart phones and games. But this change over took place some years later or perhaps in my teen years complimented by my uncle Veeman, a bachelor, who had his life well organised. Work during day, show attendance at the toddy shop in the evening, and to end the day fruitfully the 8.30 or 9 pm Tamil show immaterial whether the first or the sixth time – Ipoh could only offer a single Tamil show running for about 6 days or so. To those who don’t know my Uncle Veeman was. He was my father’s mothers brother or sisters son, in India. He was a regular visitor to my house and in a week at least once. His communication expertise was nil and in my house when he visits there is no conversation perhaps my uncle was afraid he will fail the breathslayer test although my parents all knew what my mama did every evening. His attempt at conversation was “Mosay kelambu” – my house name was Moses or Mosay when spoken in Tamil and “kelambu” means get going or get going as I was being taken to a movie. On the other hand, there I was clued to a book but anticipating a movie. Most of the time, my mother ignores my mamas request, but those two words are repeated like about 10 times and finally my mother says “poda” or go.

Both walked to the movie houses, then called theatres – one was Rex cinema in Chamberlain Road, whereas Sun and Odeon were found in Brewster Road. My best time was, besides the pictures, a visit to the mamak restaurent before the pictures. It was for a class of tea and 1 big piece of fruit cake. The tea and case cost 25 cents each, and the admission to the cinema, 3rd class 40 cents, 2nd class was 65 cents, 1st class was $ 1.25 and Special class was $ 2.00 in dollars. Generally we picked 3rd and moved on to 2nd class, if tickets for 3rd class finish.

Every movie was the last show at 8.30 pm and usually ended up at 11.30 pm. Some Tamil films lasted 4 hours.

Leave a comment