Skip navigation

Datuk Seri Tengku Azlan Sultan Abu Bakar rejected the opportunity to be a Deputy Minister. This are his comments on various topics highlighting the politic climate in this country. I have just highlighted his comments to have just Barisan Nasional without the rest of the racial based parties. His long and frank comments can be read here in Malaysia Today.

Datuk Seri Tengku Azlan Sultan Abu Bakar has always been out of the Malaysian political radar. Thus, it was ironic that the name of this low-profile younger brother of the Sultan of Pahang was on the lips of many when he marked the beginning of his political exit by rejecting the deputy FOREIGN minister’s post. He talks to R. Nadeswaran and Terence Fernandez about this and his reservations about Umno.

You think so? Why can’t we just have Barisan Nasional?

Someone should suggest it. There’s nothing wrong. You see, if you are an Indian and you talk about strengthening your community at a platform full of Indians, if I am sitting there, I will not take offence. Depends on where you say it and how you say it. If I am a Malay speaking about uplifting the Malays and killing all these jealousies, it is okay, but you cannot say “I want you to be better than the Chinese or Indians, so we should suppress them”.

Why should I get offended if you are talking about uplifting the Indians? But if you say “go to hell with the Malays”, sure-lah I get offended.

We have co-existed for so long. Mana ada problem dulu? (There weren’t problems then). Look at Tun Tan Siew Sin, how he took care of the country’s money. I have full respect for him. I don’t hold a grudge because he is Chinese. He is one of the best finance ministers we ever had. Tun V.T. Sambanthan and Tan Sri V. Manickavasagam … they were great leaders.

How did we come about this communal thing? We had no issues before.

In my kawasan, I speak about strengthening Umno in front of Indians and Chinese. They have no problems.

When I go to the Indian area, I tell MIC “you must tell us what you want”, and if I have programmes with Indians, I go through MIC.

At the height of the Hindraf issue, I had programmes with the Indians. I asked them how many went for Hindraf? Only one person, and he is not even a voter from Jerantut!

I said “why didn’t you go? You should have all gone just to listen to what they had to say. Nothing wrong with that”.

If you are an open-minded person, there will not be any problems. These are narrow-minded politicians.

Malaysia Today: Your source of independent news – Right royal politician

Leave a Reply

