Skip navigation

Raja Petra is in the limelight. Blogs everywhere write up on him. But I have yet to see anyone commenting on Syed Akbar the writer of 2 books. This report does not say, whether he was bailed out or still lingering in the prison. What are the charges. I have checked Malaysia Today and don’t find anything.

Unlike Raja Petra I don’t know him at all, or have read his books. He must be undergoing an ordeal and I thought this posting will make him known.

Before starting my blog, I have commented a lot on other people’s postings. Some of them short, sometimes lengthy, although rarely, trying to express my views. I can understand that when you comment the tendency is to be to the point, and sometimes this can be rude or out of context. I receive many such comments in my blog. Sometimes, I don’t even know, whether the comments are against on what I say or whether it is complimentary to what I write. Nevertheless, most of the comments to me is allowed, encouraging the commentator for the trouble taken.

I don’t know what category Syed Akbar is in. I hope somebody will give me feedback, to know all about his case and perhaps join him and offer what assistance is necessary. Maybe not financially, but the least moral support. Please think about this.

KUALA LUMPUR: Syed Akbar Ali (pic), the businessman who claimed trial to a charge of posting a seditious comment on the news portal of Malaysia Today, is a writer as well.

The 48-year-old published his first book titled To Digress A Little in July 2005 and his second book Malaysia and the Club of Doom the following year, according to two book review websites.

The former banker was charged in a Sessions Court here yesterday for a comment on Arabs and Islam that he had posted with Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s article on “Malaysia’s organised crime syndicate: all roads lead to Putrajaya”.

He was alleged to have committed the offence at Zeenath Begum Jewellers Sdn Bhd in Jalan Masjid India on June 5 last year.

Syed Akbar, who was born in Ipoh, was a newspaper columnist for eight years for an English and Malay daily. He is married with two children.

The writer received his early education at the Anglo Chinese School and finished his schooling at the Penang Free School.

He obtained his undergraduate degree from a university in the United States.

Syed Akbar an author of two books

Technorati Tags: ,
One Comment

  1. I have Syed Akbar Ali’s book – Malaysia and the Club of Book. I wished there were more Muslims like him, who believes that religion is a personal matter. I feel sorry that his plight is not highlighted more. I have gone through the two articles where Syed Akbar supposedly defamed Islam and the Malay race in his comments. I cannot find his comments, unless of course he was using a name other than his real name.


Leave a Reply

